Friday Favorites {Sonoma edition}

sonoma january 2015 131

After one of the most deliciously fun weeks of my life, it’s back to reality.  I hate that I have not blogged all week but I promise you multiple recaps of Sonoma (and a little of San Fran).  And let’s be honest- I love these posts so much because I get to relive the fun that was had in place all the way across the country.  Please note that in no way are these all of my favorites!  This is simply a snap-shot of the amazing week in Sonoma.

Favorite Hipster Winery:  Scribe Winery.  But let me be clear – this was not my favorite wine or my favorite winery.  But I loved the set-up.  The picnic tables.  The cheese plate.  The view.  It was a little “hipster” for us but I couldn’t write a post without a mention.

sonoma january 2015 094

Favorite Dinner:  OSO.  New to the Sonoma scene, Chef Dave Bush is doing everything right.  The space is perfectly decorated, the wine was perfectly picked by the sommelier and food not only surprised me but simply blew me away.  The menu is ever-changing and I promise you won’t have a bad bite.  The crab deviled eggs have forever changed the way I look at this Southern staple.

Favorite Winery Tour:  Iron Horse Winery.  We absolutely hit the jack pot on our last full day in Sonoma when we were given the opportunity to go to a truck tour of the vineyard with the winemaker himself.  I learned more about bubbles than I ever dreamed possible and I have a new-found appreciation for a glass of sparkling wine.

sonoma january 2015 153

Favorite Lunch:  Bistro Jeanty.    A Michelin star French restaurant that has the best tomato soup I’ve ever tasted.  I didn’t look at the menu.  I simply let Ryan and Sarah run the show.  All eight plates were wonderfully created with the richness that embodies French cooking.  This was also the lunch that pushed Big Guy beyond his comfort zone with a salad of lamb tongue, rabbit pate, duck confit and crispy smelt.

Favorite Cocktail before Noon:  The Girl and the Fig.  And it was a Sunday.  I was looking so forward to this “country food with French passion” as it was one of the restaurants on my list before we even began planning our trip.  The restaurant fills up fast and now I know why.  The Quiche Lorraine has forever changed my life.

Favorite “Not Grapes”:  El Dorado Kitchen.  While we did not dine here for dinner (though after a taste of the truffle fries, I want to eat dinner at EDK), we did grab a cocktail before dinner one night.  After a week of drinking, a stiff cocktail never tasted so good.  The Peach and Jalapeno Martini was just what Sarah and I needed.

Favorite San Fran Spot:  Coqueta.  Big Guy and I ran across this eatery while we were walking along the Ferry Building on the morning of our one day in San Fran.  We decided to pop in for a pre-dinner drink and I didn’t want to leave.  The drinks were incredible (the best gin and tonic I’ve ever tasted) and the cheese and cured meat plate that we shared was the best cheese plate of my life and I’ve had multiple day dreams involving those bites and sips.  If ever in San Fran again, even for an hour or two, this will be on my list to visit.

Favorite Travel Partners:  These two.  While we have not been best friends forever and ever, we share a passion for food and drink.  And after a trip across the country, I will always think of them as “besties” and am already dreaming of our next adventure.  I never imagined we would laugh as much as we did and I can never thank them enough for sharing their love of Sonoma was us.  A trip I won’t soon forget and friends that will last longer than this lifetime.  And with that I say, “Holy guacamole!”

sonoma january 2015 063

Leave a Reply

