Pesto Chicken Chili

Brrrrrrrr…

I know, I know.  It’s below zero is parts of the county but not getting above freezing for 60 hours is not kosher with this southern gal.

Take me to Florida.  Now.

At least it’s a sunny and dry cold.  Sn** is not welcome.

And when it’s cold I want warm dinners.

Pesto Chicken Chili reminded me a lot of chicken soup when I read the ingredients.  Chicken, onion, carrots, celery.  And chicken soup is known as a comforting food.  I especially wanted something comforting with the thought of a low of 15 degrees.

Once everything is prepped (the most time consuming part of the recipe) the chili is a breeze to make.  Simply saute, add in the rest of the ingredients and then let it simmer for 25 minutes.

At the very end pesto is swirled into the soup and the aroma is amazing.  Basil-garlicky goodness.

The only changes I made to the recipe was using chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts (it’s what I had on hand) and I used frozen carrot slices.  Just a side note:  if you use purple carrots, it will turn your chicken and onions a shade of purple.  (Thanks to an Instagram filter for lessening the purple hue and deepening the beautiful green from the pesto.)

The broth (even though it’s chili) is full of flavor and the pesto brightened up the entire pot of chili.

With the high of 28 today, I think we could all use a little warming up.

Leave a Reply

