{Virtual} Coffee Chat

One of the things I loved most about my two-week break from work during the holiday season was sipping coffee and chatting with everyone and anyone in the room.  Some days it was my Momma while we were in Charlotte.  Some days it was Big Guy and his Dad when we were in Red Springs.  And other days it was just Big Guy and me (note:  he definitely was not drinking coffee).  But I loved to have someone to talk to or to simply enjoy the pleasant silence that was between us.  Now I’m back at work and I sip my coffee while catching up on emails.  It’s not near as fun as it was last week.  So let’s pretend I’m not catching up on emails and let’s chat!

 

If we were having coffee this morning… I would share with you the 10 Kitchen Habits to Adopt in 2015.  The one I really want to see more of in my kitchen is hosting dinners for others.  Whether it’s a simple dinner at home with another couple or co-hosting and really pulling out all the stops.

{image}

If we were having coffee this morning… I would share with you that my love of sushi isn’t going anywhere.  We ate sushi three times in two weeks.  Totally a new record for us.

If we were having coffee this morning… I would talk to you about the 13 Food World Predictions for 2015.  I can get on board with the gyro trend but I’m not so sure about marijuana being on the menu.

{image}

If we were having coffee this morning… I would probably talk about how delicious our end to 2014 ended up being.  Like I mentioned (or perhaps you saw on Instagram), we dined at SoCo and enjoyed a 6-course dinner with French wine pairings.  It was absolutely incredible with some truly unique plates of food.  It’s a night of eating I won’t soon forget.

If we were having coffee this morning… I would recommend the cookbook, America Farm to Table by Mario Batali.  This was a gift from my brother for Christmas and I am so excited to cook more from the book.  This past Saturday we made fried oysters and they were perfect.  Salty, crunchy on the outside, sweet and not at all mushy.

If we were having coffee this morning…  I would tell you that I’m buying a new camera.  No, I’m not taking up photography.  But in college I was always “that” girl that had the camera in her purse and caught hilarious moments on camera.  Unfortunately, “that” girl has broken several cameras either by getting it wet at a bar (true story) or dropping it on the dance floor at a wedding.  But I’m 31 now and I would like more than just my iPhone to capture memories.  My father-in-law (hi, butch!) researched cameras for me and I’m excited to make a little investment.

If we were having coffee this morning…  I would catch you up to speed on the “gym drama.”  (HAH!)  But seriously.  On the newest group fitness exercise schedule they removed our favorite class and teacher.  And we’re super bummed.  And we’re not being quiet about.  Hopefully they’ll add it back A to the SAP before we all freak out.

If we were having coffee this morning…  I would leave you with this thought:

{image}

2 thoughts on “{Virtual} Coffee Chat

Leave a Reply

