Lemon Chicken Skillet

Oh, hey.  Remember me?  A week-long hiatus is fairly predictable this time of year for me.  The past week has been just what I needed.  A lot of family and not a lot of internet.

But I’m back!  And after taking down all the Christmas decorations today (Big Guy is to thank for most of that) all I wanted was a warm, cozy dinner.  And if the timing couldn’t have been more perfect, my new issue of Cooking Light arrived before I created our menu for the week along with the grocery list.

The Lemon-Chicken Skillet caught my eye as I wanted something comforting and different from what I’ve had over the past week.

I was amazed at how much lemon flavor was infused in the sauce in such a short time.  The only change I made to the recipe was using cornstarch (2 1/2 teaspoons) instead of flour.

chicken skillet

While the potatoes are boiling, the chicken is browned in a skillet with a few thyme sprigs.  Once browned, the chicken cooks in the oven until cooked through.  Remove the chicken from the pan and add in the potatoes, mushrooms, and thyme and saute until browned, about 3 minutes.  Once browned, add in the milk mixture, salt, pepper, chicken broth, green beans and lemon slices.  Simmer for one minute and then add in the cooked chicken.  Cover and allow to cook until the green beans are tender.

Skillet dinners are not only easy but one of my favorite dinners because of how the flavors all come together in one skillet.  Tender potatoes, crisp green beans, bright lemon, earthy mushrooms and thyme, and fresh parsley.

chicken plate

 

My favorite part of the plate:  the mushrooms.  I am obsessed with cooked mushrooms.  They soaked up all the amazing flavor from the lemon and thyme.

Winner, winner, chicken dinner.

Leave a Reply

