Spicy Chicken Cacciatore

I am so glad it’s Tuesday and not Monday.  I’m starting to believe that having a Monday off work is much better than a Friday.

Our weekend was incredibly busy but full of family and love and everything that the Christmas season is made of.  And as soon as the in-laws and grandparents left on Sunday, Momma Bell was heading to come spend a little time with me (and Big Guy).  I decided about a month or so ago that I wanted my Momma to come visit before Christmas so that I could take her shopping for a new outfit or two for all the Christmas happenings.  It’s not that I don’t love the hustle and bustle of the 23rd but let’s be honest, the selections are slim and as soon as you find something you like, they don’t have your size.  And I’m relieved to announce that Momma Bell not only has one new holiday outfit, but two.  I’m kind of jealous about one of the sweaters she got for Christmas day.

But rewind to Sunday night.  After a whirlwind day, we loaded up the crock-pot and snuggled on the couch beside the Christmas tree until dinner was ready.  In the slow cooker – Spicy Chicken Cacciatore.  The chicken simmered with a mixture of onions, red bell pepper, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, garlic, red wine, capers, oregano and red pepper flakes until tender.

The chicken along with lots of sauce was served over a polenta pillow to catch all the flavor from the sauce.

A sprinkle of parsley topped off the bowl.

A little spicy, a lot of delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

