Warm Honey Fig Dip with Blue Cheese

Instead of my “Friday Favorites” (I promise lots of those next Friday), I thought I would share with you a recipe for one of my favorite hours of the day – “appy” hour!

The only two necessities of “appy” hour are a cocktail (or mocktail) and a delicious appetizer.  Preferably one that involves cheese.

 

Besides that, the rest of “appy” hour is up to you.  My favorite “appy” hours occur this time of year at home.  When I can cozy up near the tree, sip on a sparkling drink and enjoy taste after taste of a cheesy dip.

Last Saturday evening, after a full day of bustling around Raleigh, “appy” hour was on my mind.

On the menu:  a sparkling drink (duh!) and Warm Honey Fig Dip with Blue Cheese.

I am officially obsessed with figs lately and the sweetness of the dried figs pairs perfectly with the strong blue cheese.  Mascarpone cheese and cream cheese give the dip even more creaminess and makes is utterly luscious.

Salty, crunchy crackers are best for this dip and instead of making my own pita chips I used a pre-bought cracker and simply toasted them up with a spritz of olive oil and a sprinkling of nutmeg.

Nutmeg, honey, figs and blue cheese were made for one another.

 

 

Leave a Reply

