Chopped Salad with Apricot Vinaigrette

Yesterday I mentioned the salad that we had at the beginning of our Sunday Supper.  The more I thought about it, the more I thought I should share more on the salad.  Because it really could have stolen the show.

I really made this salad my own and made a few changes to the original recipe.

One of the major variations for the original was using homegrown greens instead of Swiss chard.  Our garden is full of red leaf lettuce and green lettuce and I couldn’t help but use them in the salad.  The freshness just can’t be beat.

I also left out the chickpeas.  Since this was an addition to a larger meal that was fun of protein, I didn’t need the beans.  However, I would love this salad for a meatless Monday or for lunches during the work week and in that case the chickpeas would remain.  Trust me, I’m not hatin’ on the chickpea.

The dressing is a mix of sliced shallot (about 1/4 of a cup or 1/2 a shallot), 2 tablespoons of EVOO, 2 tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar (this is different than the original recipe), 1 1/2 tablespoons of apricot preserves and a squeeze of Dijon mustard.

When it was time to serve the salad, I simply tossed the greens with the dressing along with a handful of chopped chives (instead of green onions).  I topped the entire salad with walnut pieces, crumbled goat cheese and a good sprinkling of fresh cracked pepper.

salad

Tangy

Fruity

Crisp

Nutty

Sweet

I love salads but this may be one of my favorite combinations to date!

Leave a Reply

