Weekend Review {sweet potato risotto, duck and honey roasted carrots}

It’s Thanksgiving week!  I simply cannot believe how fast this year has gone.  I also can’t believe that it’s already Monday.  I feel like it was just Friday.

The weekend was full of fun, friends and football.  Oh, and delicious food.

Friday night started off with dropped oats.  No, seriously.

I was working away in the kitchen, prepping food for Saturday and the next thing I knew, I had dropped the oats and they went everywhere.  I’m sure I’ll be finding oats for days.

Dropping the oats was a sign that I needed to pour myself a glass of wine.

And that’s just what I did.

We spent most of the evening getting ready for the tailgate on Saturday as well as snacks for after the game.  But I did find time to prepare the most incredible dinner – Roasted Sweet Potato Risotto.

The risotto rivals my favorite risotto recipe and is seriously dinner party worthy.

The browned butter, bacon, and herbs took it over the top.

It was so sad to get to the end of the bowl.  Creamy, perfectly cooked rice with salty bacon and buttery roasted sweet potatoes.

Luscious, I tell you, simply luscious.

Saturday was spent cheering on the Pirates and I was so glad we got a WIN!  Oh, and I got to spend time with one of my bests – Kat.

Yesterday we had big plans in the kitchen!

Big Guy has been wanted to cook a whole duck and yesterday was the day.

The process was quite laborious, but it was totally worth the time and effort.

For the Duck a l’Orange we not only roasted a whole duck but we made a “duck stock” that became the orange sauce that was so delicious.

Cooking a whole duck caused a little concern because I really didn’t want to be disappointed.  But the end result was far better than I expected.  The skin was crispy, the duck was tender and moist and the flavor was perfection.

We started with a simple salad of homegrown greens, an apricot vinaigrette with walnuts and goat cheese.  And with our duck, Honey Roasted Carrots.  The carrots were supposed to be maple-roasted but I didn’t realize I had run out of maple.  Thankfully the honey paired perfectly with the carrots and I loved the addition of fresh parsley on top – it really brightened up the whole plate as did the blanched orange zest.

These carrots would be a wonderful addition to any Thanksgiving feast.

So there you have it!  My weekend review.  Three days stand between me and a long weekend full of family and food.  Oh, and Christmas trees.

Happy Thanksgiving Week!

 

 

Leave a Reply

