Friday Favorites

It’s only been a 3-day work week for me but I’m so ready for the weekend.  It’s going to be a fun one!  One of my bestest friends from college (we met at the bus stop freshman year) who lives in Houston now is coming to visit with her husband.  I haven’t seen her since last September and I am ohemgeesoexcited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  

We have a fun Friday night planned for them and Saturday is going to be totally low-key.  I’m talking football on the t.v., trashy football appetizers and ribs for dinner.  It’s going to be epic.  And then Sunday I’ll probably stayed buried under a blanket on the couch watching DVRed shows since it seems that winter wants to come in the middle of fall.  Woof.

Let’s get to the good stuff…

Favorite Crumbs:  Cranberry Pecan Crumb Bars.  Something about cranberries screams “the holidays” in my world.  And you add in a little brown butter and pecans and you have yourself a holiday dessert.

 

Favorite Dip:  Warm Honey Fig Dip with Blue Cheese.    This appetizer would be the perfect compromise for Big Guy and me…pungent blue cheese for him, sweet figs for me.  Pass the pita, please.

 

Favorite Layers:  Lately I’ve been on the hunt for a perfect sweater to buy in seven colors so that I can wear it every day.  I’ve purchased a couple from the Loft and I haven’t been impressed this year…

 

Favorite Date Night:  Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Balsamic-Sage Brown Butter Sauce.  Gnocchi is a funny word that no one can pronounce correctly (well, at least a few folks in my family can’t) and seems quite daunting to make.  Since Big Guy and I find ourselves “dating” over food – how fun would be be to make homemade gnocchi from our homegrown potatoes?  “Fun” sure does have a differently meaning at 31.

 

Favorite DIY:  Turn your Instagram photos into a photo book.  I promise that is super easy (hey, I did it).  I took all my photos from 2013 and turned them into an easy-to-view book that others can flip through.  I can’t wait to create one for 2014.

 

Favorite Cozy:  Coq au Vin with Brown Butter Sage Mashed Potatoes.  Those fancy words mean “chicken in red wine mushroom sauce” in a nutshell.  Basically, the perfect Sunday supper.

 

Favorite Twinkle:  Some may find these obnoxiously sparkly, I find them ridiculously fun.

Favorite Bubbles:  The Honey Badger.  A little party in your cup.

 

Cheers…you made it to Friday.

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. Glad you were able to make your photo book!! Can’t wait to try to Honey Badger with you as well! Please tell Natalie I said hey girl!

Leave a Reply

