Mediterranean Baked Sweet Potatoes

I think I’m going to have to start eating dinner at 5pm now that the time has changed.

And it’s not because I’m hungry.

It’s because I’m preparing beautiful dinners and they look horrific because there’s no natural light what-so-ever at 6:15pm.

One thing that the time change does bring – my desire to eat warm dinners every.single.night.

Gone are the nights of cheese plates and salads.  I want a hot meal.

And these Mediterranean Baked Sweet Potatoes are not only warm but they are packed with flavor.  And they are incredibly healthy.  In fact, their both gluten-free and vegan.  But totally filling and comforting.  And despite the fact that “vegan” and “gluten-free” make recipes daunting, these potatoes are super simple and come together in under 30 minutes.

I’m also kind of obsessed with this dinner because the base was homegrown sweet potatoes.  Cut them open and their vibrant orange flesh made me smile.  It’s incredibly satisfying to grown your own food – especially potatoes.  (Please not that I did not grow anything, my husband did – I get no credit besides cooking what he grows.)

How genius is it to cut the sweet potatoes in half before roasting?  It’s totally genius and I wish I would have thought of it.  Simply cut in half and place on a baking sheet coated with an olive oil spray and bake cut-side down for 30 minutes.  In another baking try, toss the chickpeas with a little olive oil and spices – cinnamon, cumin, coriander and smoked paprika.  This spice combination is incredible.  And it smells so…warm!  The chickpeas are also roasted at 400 degrees with the potatoes for 25-30 minutes (I stirred them around once during the cooking time).

While the potatoes and chickpeas are roasting, prepare your sauce.  It’s a simple mix of tahini, lemon juice, dill, garlic and water (to thin).  I also ended up adding salt since I used tahini and not hummus.

And finally, toss together diced tomatoes with parsley and lemon juice.

To serve, simply scatter the roasted chickpeas on the sweet potato and drizzle with the tahini sauce.  Finally add some freshness with the tomato and parsley “salad.”

I can’t even put into words my love for this meal.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

