Pan-Roasted Chicken Thighs

Our November is jam-packed.  I’m talking plans every.single.weekend.  It’s only November 4th and I’m already exhausted.

But thankfully you don’t need a whole weekend to rewind.  Sometimes a few hours with nothing to do and no where to be recharges you.

A glass of red and a fire pit don’t hurt either.

Don’t get me wrong, I love being busy.  I love laughing with friends and being social until the wee-hours of the morning.

But I love being at home.  A place where conversation is welcome but not always necessary.

At home, in my kitchen with Big Guy is one of my favorite places in the world.

Pan-Roasted Chicken Thighs doesn’t require a lot of ingredients but it does require a little bit of patience.

And chicken thighs with the skin.  This is a must.

The recipe comes from a cookbook that my friend (hi, KP!) gave me that is written by a popular blogger, i am a food blog.

The chicken thighs are sprinkled with salt and pepper and then seared in a hot Dutch oven until browned.  Once browned, the temperature is turned way down and the chicken cooks for about 30 minutes.  The skin gets super crispy but without being fatty.  Once the chicken is turned, it only takes a few minutes to finish cooking.  I added thyme springs to the pan for a hint of herbaceousness.

It’s actually the perfect bite.  Tender yet crisp, flavorful yet simple.

Crispy
Moist
Tender
Savory
Comforting

 

I served the chicken thighs with a side of brussels.  Big Guy and I were in Heaven.

A incredibly comforting dish, perfect for these shorter and colder days.

One thought on “Pan-Roasted Chicken Thighs

Leave a Reply

