Weekend Review

Good morning!  The most important happening of the weekend is that I am an aunt to a precious baby BOY.  On Friday evening, Deacon Bailey was born weighing 8 pounds, 8 ounces.  I literally waited by my phone all day on Friday and my sister/brother-in-law texted me (and the rest of the crew) while I was celebrating #champagneday.  I love getting pics (keep ’em coming) but I can’t wait to snuggle him in a couple of weeks.  I’m taking a couple of days off work so that I can spend some time in Charlotte, meeting the newest addition to the family.

On Friday night, Leann and I celebrated #champagneday at The Raleigh Wine Shop.  The free tasting event was incredibly busy (busier than I’ve ever see the store) but I was able to grab a bottle of champs and red wine for Saturday night.  Post-bubbles, we enjoyed a couple of rolls at Sushi O.

Saturday morning, I was like a little kid at Christmas. After 10 long days, Big Guy was coming home after being in Indonesia/Malaysia for work.  I was up and at ’em for an early morning workout followed by a big cup of coffee.  I’m not sure how I feel about red cups already being at Starbucks.  Can’t we wait until November?

I also made some homemade crackers for our cheese plate that evening.

I think I made them a little thick because they didn’t crisp up the way I wanted but the flavor was incredible.  Here’s the link to the original recipe.

I also prepped cinnamon rolls for Sunday morning.  Yep, it happened.

Big Guy finally arrived home and we popped a bottle of champagne and toasted to the weekend with a cheese plate.  The Gouda (in the middle) was incredible.

Seriously, I could live off bubbles and cheese.

After a lovely date night and a full 10 hours of sleep, we woke up on Sunday morning to a batch of cinnamon rolls ready to be baked.

Cinnamon-sugar deliciousness.  They were topped with a cream cheese “icing” that was the perfect start to Sunday.

Sunday had a slow start, which was a welcome speed, and we ended the day by carving our pumpkin.

I’m impressed by our skills.

#fall

 

Leave a Reply

