Greek Chicken with Herb Roasted Potatoes

It’s a known fact that I love wine.  And these days I’m loving all wine – white, bubbles, no bubbles, rose and even red.  But it’s just not the taste that I love.  I’m loving learning about wine.

Wine tasting is such a difficult hobby to have.

My mother-in-law gave me this wine journal as a birthday present (along with many other wonderful birthday goodies) and I love how it challenges me to slow down and really savor the wine.

This past Saturday, it was insanely gorgeous outside and I spent some time on the back deck smelling, sipping and really trying to figure out the flavors of this particular wine (which was a Cab Franc and for the price point, it was quite delicious).

The most difficult part of wine tasting, to me, is the smell part.  I just can’t decipher different notes.  But hey, practice makes perfect, right???

I planned my dinner around this particular bottle since I am a firm believer in the fact that red wine belongs with food.  Taking notes from the wine company themselves, I went with a Mediterranean-inspired dish:  Greek Chicken with Herb Roasted Potatoes.  

The dinner is ridiculously easy to pull together and is perfect for a weeknight or a weekend dinner.  First, prep the potatoes and get them in the oven – they’ll take the longest.  (And yes, you can boil the potatoes but roasted potatoes are where it’s at.)  The potatoes were tossed with a little melted butter, a little champagne vinegar, EVOO, oregano, salt and pepper and then roasted for about 30 minutes.

While the potatoes were roasting away, I sipped on a glass of wine and started on the chicken.  Season the chicken with salt and pepper and then grill – I used an inside grill.  And don’t worry, you will get LOTS of flavor from the tomatoes and onions that you’re about to get to work on.

The tomato-onion “topping,” if you will, is a simple saute of sliced onion, tomato, garlic and olives.  Once those are cooked through, lemon juice, parsley and oregano brighten up the mixture that is served on top of the chicken.  And to complete the Greek-style chicken, a sprinkle of feta cheese.

The potatoes were the absolute perfect side dish for the tender chicken.  I forget how much I love roasted potatoes until I roast up a batch and I find myself going back to the pan for “just one more.”  The sweetness of the tomato intensifies as it sautes with the onion and the saltiness of the olives balances out the sweetness.  And feta.  Don’t skip this step.  So much flavor in such a small cheese.

And yes, the wine was better with the meal.

But I knew that.

Leave a Reply

