Friday Favorites

This week has been a little crazy but it’s Friday now.  I apologize for leaving you hanging not one, but two days this week.  True story:  I got locked out the house on Wednesday and had to wait two hours in the garage for the locksmith.  Thank goodness my parents still keep my Premium AAA up-to-date.

But it’s Friday now and here are my favorites of the week!

Favorite Crunch:  Sweet and Spicy Rosemary Cheddar and Gorgonzola Pumpkin Crackers.  I promise these will be on the next cheese plate I make it home.  There’s just something special about making your own crackers.  And pumpkin is all the rage now, right?

 

Favorite Cozy:  Cabernet Braised Short Rib Stew. I want to curl up on the couch on a Sunday evening with a bowl of this and a glass of Cab.  This is comfort food.

 

Favorite Spot.  I love bookstores.  And in Tampa, we stumbled upon The Oxford Exchange and I was immediately drawn to the shelves of the books all over the store.  I wanted to pick up a stack of books, order a latte, find a spot on a plush couch and read until the sun went down.  And while The Oxford Exchange was a little overwhelming and loud, I want to live somewhere that has a cute book store like the one below.

 

Favorite Twist:  Broccoli Cheddar Soup Mini Pies.  It’s like broccoli and cheese soup – but in hand-held pies.  The crust looks so tender and flaky.  Big Guy would go bonkers for these little nuggets.

 

Favorite Copycat:  Baked “Deep Fried” Oreos.  This week is the NC State Fair.  In the past, Deep Fried Oreos have been all the rage at the State Fair (among other fried things) and while you won’t find me waiting in line at the fairgrounds, you might find me making my own at home.  P.S.  I heard on the radio this week that they’re having deep fried Reese’s wrapped in bacon.  I’m terrified and intrigued.

 

Favorite Predictable:  One Bowl Banana Bread Cinnamon Rolls.  You knew that was coming.  I just can’t stop drooling at all the cinnamon rolls I want to make.  They’re happening.  Within the next two weeks.  Mark my word.

 

Favorite Fashion:  I’m obsessed with this camel cape.  Don’t ask me where I’d wear it.

 

Favorite DIY:  Photo Clipboards.  There’s a small empty wall in our kitchen that I want to fill.  The problem is, I can’t make up my mind on what I want there.  This would solve all my problems.

 

Favorite Sip:  Autumn Apple Cider and Champagne Sangria.  I have never made sangria using red wine. (probably because I didn’t like red wine until recently, but still).  But I think this is the one that will change that.  It combines a few of my favorite things – apple cider, red wine AND champagne.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

