White Bean and Pumpkin Hummus

I have a confession to make, I’m not crazy about PSLs (pumpkin spice lattes).

I like my coffee with a little creamer and we’re good to go.

But I do love the flavor of pumpkin.  And now that it’s officially fall, I’m enjoying playing around with fall produce and flavors.  Like pumpkin.

I made the white bean and pumpkin hummus for a snack plate the other night (one of my favorite dinners after being on vacation).  The hummus is insanely simple to pull together and doesn’t require anything but a food processor.

Simply put all the ingredients in the bowl of the food processor and whirl.

In the mix:  canned pumpkin, white beans, tahini, lemon juice, a smidge of EVOO, cumin, smoked paprika, salt and garlic.

I went heavy on the spices – adding much more cumin than the recipe called for – along with an extra clove of garlic.

The end result – a slightly sweet yet totally savory dip that’s perfect for a snack plate.

 

I served my hummus with a few crackers, cucumber slices, apple slices and a hunk of fontina cheese.  I love having an array of flavors and textures on a plate.

Fancy up the hummus if you’re entertaining by adding an extra sprinkle of smoked paprika on top along with some roasted pumpkin seeds.

But you don’t have to be entertaining others to make this hummus.

It’s totally something you can sit on the couch and eat while wearing yoga pants and catching up on “your shows” saved to the DVR.

 

One thought on “White Bean and Pumpkin Hummus

Leave a Reply

