Red Wine and Goat Cheese Risotto with Caramelized Mushrooms

One of my least favorite things that come with Fall and Winter is the lack of natural sunlight come dinner time.

Seriously annoying.  Especially when the dish is absolutely beautiful and all I want to do is give credit to the recipe creator.

The Red Wine and Goat Cheese Risotto with Caramelized Mushrooms has been on my “to make” list since 2011.

And let’s just say I’m already trying to plan when I can make it again.

Because it’s that delicious.

Creamy yet tangy.

Rich on the tongue but not overly heavy.

And the dish comes together relatively easy.

You just need a little patience.  And some red wine.

risotto

I am sure you could use white wine instead of red but who wouldn’t want pink risotto?

I used a Pinot Noir that was perfectly sweet and didn’t over power the goat cheese.

And any one who says that don’t like mushrooms hasn’t had them caramelized in a combination of butter and olive oil.  Because I could seriously have eaten just a bowl of those tender, meaty mushrooms.

You may even be tempted to eat the leftovers for breakfast.

And that can be your little secret if you give in to your temptation.

So I apologize for the not-so-pretty picture.

But I’m blaming the season change on this one.

 

 

Leave a Reply

