Gouda Grits with Smoky Brown Butter Shrimp

I am totally a grits girl.  I grew up eating grits for breakfast.  Sometimes as a snack after school.

If you didn’t think I was Southern before now, that should prove my Southern roots.

And my favorite kind of grits growing up:  cheese grits.

Lots of cheddar cheese melted into a bowl of piping hot grits.

Last night I took my love of cheese grits to a whole new level with Gouda Grits with Smoky Brown Butter Shrimp.

Applewood smoked gouda was whisked into the grits until they become a dreamy bed for the browned butter shrimp.

The shrimp (local, wild caught) were seasoned with salt, pepper, smoked paprika, chili powder and cumin.

The shrimp are cooked in a bath of melted butter that browns as the shrimp cook (I had to cook my shrimp in two batches – you don’t want to overcrowd the pan).

On top of the shrimp and grits – sauteed corn.  This was the last of the summer corn that I had frozen back in July (oh, how  I’m going to miss having that on hand).

In the bowl, ladle in a good amount of gouda grits.  Perfectly creamy.  On top, smoky browned butter shrimp and sauteed corn along with a sprinkle of chives.

A bowl of Heaven.

I seriously could eat gouda grits for breakfast, lunch, snack or dinner.

Leave a Reply

