Canned Tuna Ceviche

You’re either going to love this recipe idea or hate it.

Canned tuna is one of those things that you either love or hate.  I think that cilantro falls in that category.  Along with mushrooms.

I personally have always loved canned tuna.  In fact, tuna noodle casserole is one of my favorite retro dishes that I crave.  It reminds me of weeknight dinners growing up.

Canned tuna (actually, I used the pouches because I can do without the extra liquid in the cans) is perfect for throwing together a quick lunch for work.

But canned tuna ceviche kind of makes canned tuna seem fancy.  If that’s even possible.

canned ceviche

I halved the recipe since it was just for me (you won’t catch Big Guy eating canned tuna ever…maybe fresh, but never canned).

In the mix:

1 pouch of tuna
diced red onion
juice of half a lime
salt
pepper
1/2 teaspoon olive oil
diced tomato
diced pickled jalapeno

Simply mix all the ingredients together and let them hang out in the fridge for about 15 minutes.  Once you’ve given the tuna some time to soak up the flavors, serve with avocado slices and crackers.

A little bit of spice and a lot of flavor – considering it’s canned tuna and all.

Is there a food you just absolutely won’t eat?  

 

 

2 thoughts on “Canned Tuna Ceviche

Leave a Reply

