Bacon-Blue Burgers with Arugula and Quick Jalapeno Jam

I know that I shared with you my Fall Bucket List yesterday and that I should be posting a pumpkin recipe or a soup recipe but I can’t bring myself to not share with you the most incredible burger recipe.

After a gorgeous weekend, Big Guy and I wanted to end the weekend {and summer} with something “totally summer.” It didn’t take us long to agree that burgers were for dinner on Sunday.

This burger isn’t anything “fancy” – in fact, it’s a little messy.  But messy equals delicious.

The burger recipe is from my newest obsession, “Seriously Delish.”  After featuring it on a Friday Favorites post as my “Favorite Drool” I ordered the book that same day.  I just had to have it.

And now that I have it, I want to cook allthethings.  It’s full of incredible recipes that will make you want to go to stay home and dirty up every single dish you own.

Bacon and blue cheese are usual suspects when it comes to burger toppings.  However, this burger becomes something special when you add a homemade jalapeno jam.

Four jalapenos were deseeded and diced (I actually used a mini food processor for this step as to avoid having jalapeno hands all night) and then simmered with a combination of water, brown sugar, a little apple cider vinegar and honey.  Once cooled, it comes a delicious spread for the burger.

Another key component – quality beef.  We used an 85/15 mix of grass-fed beef.  The beef was gently mixed with salt, pepper and olive oil before being formed into patties.

Instead of a cast iron, we grilled our burgers to a perfect medium.  Juicy and tender, the burger would have been amazing on it’s own.

Piled high:  bottom bun, jalapeno jam, burger, blue cheese crumbles, bacon, arugula, top bun.

burger

The flavor combination was unreal!  Sweet and savory – each bite was perfection.  Pungent blue cheese was balanced with the sweet jalapeno jam and the bacon.  But bacon makes everything better.

On the side, a simple tomato salad and a glass of Petit Verdot that I savored with every sip.

Goodbye, summer!  I’m counting the days until you return…

 

Leave a Reply

