Spicy-Sweet Chicken Lettuce Wraps {and a green goddess dip}

Football season is here and that means I’m whipping up a lot of “football food” in my kitchen on Saturdays.  Because let’s be honest, while I’m a huge ECU fan, I’m more of a food fan.

The term “football food” covers an array of food – everything from veggies and dip to messy ribs.  To me, the food depends on where you are – whether it be outside of the stadium in 40 degree weather or inside your living room.

But one thing is for certain, if we’re watching football, I’ve made something to nibble on.

Last weekend we had an away game at noon with plans that Saturday evening.  So I decided to keep the “football food” light.

The menu:

Spicy-Sweet Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Green Goddess Dip with veggies

chicken wraps

The chicken used a little help from the grocery store with a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken.  In a saucepan bring the following ingredients to a boil: apple cider vinegar, water, sugar, jalapeno slices, salt and garlic.  This is the spicy-sweet part of the recipe.  Allow the mixture to simmer for about 20 minutes and then remove from the heat and add in the grated carrots.  Let those soften for about 10 minutes and then add in the shredded chicken.  Once the chicken as “soaked” for about 5 minutes, drain and discard the remaining liquid.  Simply divide the chicken among the lettuce (I used romaine but I really wanted to use Bibb lettuce) and top with cucumber slices and peanuts.  The recipe called for mint, which I have growing abundantly outside, but I totally forget and did not remember until the plate was empty.

I thought the preparation was so weird for these chicken wraps but they ended up being delicious.  Super light with a little bit of sweet and a kick of spice with each bite.  The peanuts were the perfect amount of crunch while the cucumbers provided some freshness to the sweet-spicy chicken.

green goddess

And because no football food spread is complete with a dip – a Green Goddess dip.  The dip is so incredibly easy to make and would make a perfect salad dressing or condiment for so many dishes.  I chose to serve mine with a variety of dippers.  In a food processor, simply blend together an avocado, green onions, lemon juice, vinegar (I used white balsamic), water, EVOO, basil, parsley, chives, garlic, salt and pepper.  Add more water to thin out the dip.

I love this dip for so many reasons!  Not only was I able to use a variety of herbs from the garden but this dip is dairy free which means it’s safe to leave out on a table for hours without worrying about it going bad.  This is crucial if you’re outside tailgating on a hot day in the early months of football food season.

If you wanted the Green Goddess dip to be more Mexican-esque, add in cilantro instead of basil and use lime juice instead of lemon juice.  Use the herbs you have on hand – you really can’t go wrong!

Tomorrow’s tailgate scene is going to be a little different than the one above.  We have a home game which means we’re going and we have family coming into town to go to the game.

ECU vs UNC in 2010

Here’s the menu for our tailgate tomorrow:

Mimosas (duh).  Beer.

Chicken Salad (the same as the last time we played UNC – it seemed to have brought us luck)

Game Day Turkey and Cheese Sliders

Masters Pimiento Cheese

Ham Biscuits (thanks to the in-laws)

Smoked Salmon Dip (I’m really making this for myself – so good!)

Veggies and Crackers for dipping

Brown Sugar Dip with Fruit Kebabs

Pumpkin Spice Chex Mix (now this is specifically for my MIL and my sister-in-laws!)

Coconut-Cashew Oatmeal Cookies (I made these last weekend to repay someone for a favor and Big Guy was not happy that I only saved him three.)

 

Happy Football Food Eating!!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spicy-Sweet Chicken Lettuce Wraps {and a green goddess dip}

Leave a Reply

