Bourbon {restaurant review}

This past weekend we packed up the truck and headed to Columbia, SC to see the Pirates play.  Since we were spending the weekend there, it was a must to fit in a fantastic meal on Friday night.

My brother lives in Columbia and the minute he found out I was coming his way, he wanted me to try Bourbon, a new restaurant in downtown Columbia.  Unfortunately my brother wasn’t able to make it to dinner due to a prior obligation, but my sister-in-law wasn’t about to miss going out with us.

We figured there would be a wait at Bourbon on a Friday night, and there was, so we had plans to head across the street to The Oak Table for drinks.  The Oak Table is a gorgeous restaurant and has fantastic views of the State House.

The ladies each had a glass of wine and enjoyed the fact that it was Friday.  I hope to return to Columbia soon so that I can dine at The Oak Table.

Once our table was ready, we walked back over to Bourbon.  I’m going to let you know now that the service was quite bizarre.  I would go back to Bourbon but they really need to work on the quality of their service if they want people to return after waiting an hour and then having poor service.

menu

I started with a French 75 and while isn’t wasn’t as delicious as the one I had last weekend, it was pretty fantastic.  We also shared a few appetizers.

For my dinner, I ordered the Duck Breast.  It was served atop succotash that was loaded with flavors and textures.  The duck was cooked to perfection and had a wonderful maple glaze that balanced out the whole plate.  To drink, a glass of red.  I wish I could tell you what kind of red it was – but this is where the waitress proved she was not 100% there that evening.

 

duck

A lovely evening with friends, indeed.  Like I said, the service was weird at Bourbon but the food was good enough to bring me back to the restaurant.  The Oak Table had amazing service and a beautiful atmosphere that makes me want to return for dinner.

2 thoughts on “Bourbon {restaurant review}

  1. Hhahaha the service was “weird”…. well put! I had a blast with yall and wish it could have lasted all weekend! The goal is to get together again before we have to wear winter coats !

Leave a Reply

