Mushroom and Corn Tacos

It’s about time I share a recipe with you guys.  These tacos are a perfect way to lighten up dinner after a few indulgent days.

Typically Mexican food is perceived as being heavy.  Not these tacos.  These mushroom and corn tacos are guilt-free and full of veggies and beans.

tacos

The filling is a mixture of mushrooms, onion, banana peppers (instead of poblanos), corn and black beans.

The flavor comes from spices that include oregano, garlic, chili powder, cumin, salsa verde, lime juice and hot sauce.

The corn tortillas are filled with the mixture and then topped with a squeeze of lime juice, feta cheese and fresh cilantro.

My tacos fell apart as I ate them making this a very messy dinner.  But messy usually means delicious.

And these were delicious.

 

2 thoughts on “Mushroom and Corn Tacos

  1. Oh. My. God. I’ll have to make this for my dad (he’s a “vegetarian”–he eats chicken and fish).

    Taco meat, whether it’s chicken or beef, is always so heavy and puts me in an instant food coma, but these could probably give me the energy boost I need to start my day or before a workout! Keeping these in mind the next time I’m feeling sluggish!

Leave a Reply

