Baked Figs with Blue Cheese, Bacon and Pecans

I sometimes become obsessive about recipes (and other things, but we’ll leave that conversation for another day).

Sometimes I’ll come across a recipe and I literally can’t stop thinking it until it’s actually made and I get to eat said recipe.

Baked Figs with Blue, Cheese, Bacon and Pecans was one of those recipes.

I featured it on Friday Favorites last Friday and I could not get those little bites of goodness out of my mind.

So on Saturday morning, Big Guy headed to The Fresh Market with a grocery list that included figs, blue cheese and bacon.  Oh, and a fresh baguette.

And I was so obsessed with having this appetizer on Saturday evening that I called Fresh Market on Saturday night at approximately 8:38pm to make sure they would have figs the next day.

I can sometimes take things to a level that shouldn’t be visited.

But it was totally worth obsessing over.

crostini

To make the crostini, I first melted a couple of tablespoons of butter in a saucepan with some minced garlic.  Once melted, I slathered slices of the baguette with the garlic butter before baking until crusty.

figs

The figs aren’t hard to prepare either.  Simply slice the figs in half (and I sliced a little bit of the outer half so that there was a flat surface for them to lay on) and top with crumbled blue cheese, chopped pecans and crisp bacon.

Bake for about 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted.  Drizzle on a little honey to add some sweetness.

Now, open a bottle of red wine, pour yourself a glass and enjoy.

I topped the crostini with half of a fig and enjoyed every buttery, salty, sweet and decadent bite.

What are you currently obsessing over?

 

One thought on “Baked Figs with Blue Cheese, Bacon and Pecans

Leave a Reply

