Cherry-Port Glazed Pork Tenderloin

I keep a pretty well stocked kitchen.

If there’s a spice you need, I probably have it.

A random flour, I got that, too.

Condiments fill our refrigerator door.

But when I made a chipotle chicken dish last week, I needed cherry preserves.  Not typically something I keep on hand.  (Strawberry jam is my jam.)

Not wanting to let the cherry preserves go to waste, I was excited to see Cherry-Port Glazed Pork Tenderloin in a recent issue of Cooking Light.  

The recipe calls for a 3-pound tenderloin which will serve about 10-12 people.  However, the pork tenderloins that you buy at our local HT come in 3-pound packs but it’s actually two separate pieces of meat.  Seeing that it was just Big Guy and me for dinner last night, I froze one for another day.

I kept all the other measurements the same, though.  (I did end up with quite a lot of leftover sauce.)

The pork is seared on the stove-top after being seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder.  After searing, bake at 435 degrees for 10 minutes.  The pork is then sauced and returned to the oven for 8 more minutes of cooking.  (Cooking times are increased if you use a 3-pound piece of meat.)

Once cooked, remove from the oven, sauce again and let stand for 5-10 minutes.

pork

I served the pork over a mound of grits (aka polenta) and topped the plated pork with fresh thyme.

To note – use a good port, the flavors only intensify when you reduce any type of wine.

The pork was cooked to perfection.  Tender and juicy and full of flavor from the sauce that was drizzled on top.

And because I just thought of it – goat cheese grits would have taken this dish over the top.  Just sayin’.

So if you need a spice, or cherry preserves, come see me.  I’m like the bulk section at Whole Foods.

 

Leave a Reply

