Weekend Review {girls beach weekend 2014}

Laughter, friends, sand between my toes, wine and more wine – that’s what a girls weekend at the beach is all about.

{photo via pinterest}

wine tasting

Once we arrived on Friday and got settled, we headed out to a wine tasting at The Wine Shoppe a couple of miles away from the condo.

All of the wine was tasty but I eventually decided to purchase the Paso Creek Zinfandel.  Such a smooth red wine and I knew that Big Guy would be a fan.

It’s always a treat to spend time with friends but it’s especially nice to get a whole weekend with just the ladies.

Post-wine tasting, we headed back to the condo where we fixed numerous appetizers.  We ate and laughed and the bottles of wine kept being uncorked.  Basically, it was a perfect night in.

On Saturday we laced up our tennies for a lovely morning walk before heading out for a day in the sand and sun.

Cocktails may or may not have started shortly after noon.

Hey, it’s 5 o’clock somewhere, right?

We finally packed up and headed back so that we could clean up for a night out on the town.

We had reservations at Sea Blue Wine Bar and Restaurant where we feasted like queens.

bubbles

Bubbles are totally necessary when you’re out with the girls.

The rest of the night was full of beach bars and dancing the night away with the best friends a girl could ask for.

I honestly couldn’t have asked for a better weekend away.

Thankfully Big Guy offered to take care of dinner since I was gone all weekend.  It was so nice to come home and not have to rush around and figure out what was for dinner.

But I’ll be the first to tell you that I’m spoiled.  Big Guy really impressed me with dinner.  Using lots of ingredients from the garden, he prepared a cucumber soup and garlic-jalapeno beef kebabs.

The soup was cool and refreshing with lots of herbs and garlic.  And the beef was cooked perfectly and I loved the flavors from the marinade.  I had no idea what he was making when I purchased the wine at The Wine Shoppe but it paired perfectly with this dinner.

And I really don’t know what’s gotten into me but I truly enjoy red wine these days.  This bottle was perfection with a great price tag.

I didn’t want the weekend to come to an end.

So here we are.  Another Monday.

I’m already day dreaming about the upcoming weekend…

 

Leave a Reply

