Spontaneous Savannah

Y’all, I fell in love this past weekend.

But let’s rewind to last Tuesday.  July 1st.  I arrived home from work and Big Guy proclaims, “I think we need a plan B for the weekend.”

I knew that a hurricane was heading straight to our 4th of July destination but I really didn’t want to believe that it would ruin my plans.  So I avoided the conversation.

Come Wednesday morning I was bummed.  Really bummed.  I had seen the weather and heard everyone and anyone talking about Arthur that was sure to hit the Outer Banks.  I had taken vacation days around the 4th so that I could have a mini-vacation and now there was nothing to do but wait out the storm.

Or so I thought.

Around 9am on Wednesday morning, I got an email from Big Guy asking “Do you want to be spontaneous?”

My reply:  “I want to say ‘why’ but I’ll just say ‘yes.’

And that was that.  I wouldn’t find out until the next morning where we were going.  On Wednesday night, we packed – God bless my husband, he’s a patient, patient man – and I still had no clue what I was packing for.

I was like a kid on Christmas the next morning.  My early morning alarm didn’t even phase me, I was ready to get my workout done and over with so I could find out where I was going for the weekend.

envelope

When I arrived home from the gym I was greeted by Big Guy and an envelope.  (I would receive an envelope each morning with the plan for the day.)

Savannah was our final destination.  And at 8am, we hit the road.

Our first stop, Hilton Head, to visit a dear friends new restaurant, Live Oak. (I’ll do a full post on this meal tomorrow!)

With a full belly and a happy heart, we hit the road for the final leg to Savannah.

Of all the cities my brain wandered to in the 20 hours that I didn’t know where I was going, Savannah was not on the list.  I was shocked.  And thrilled.

Once we arrived to the Bohemian Hotel on the Riverfront, we headed up to the  rooftop bar for a cocktail.

 

Post-cocktails on the roof, we headed to our room to clean up for dinner at The Olde Pink House.  

the old pink

We were a little early for our reservation, so we headed down to the bar for a drink.  The bar was super cozy and I wish we could have spent our entirety down there.

Unfortunately, where we were sat wasn’t the best place in the restaurant.  We were in the middle of a huge room and it was really loud – not what I was expecting.  It simply didn’t live up to the hype.  Thankfully, the service was amazing but it’s not somewhere I would return.

Fast-forward to the next morning, Big Guy’s favorite holiday, the 4th of July.  I opened up another envelope and was giddy with excitement to learn that were taking a cooking class.  Before getting ready for the day, we walked to a local coffee shop, The Coffee Fox, for what would be the first of four trips.

I was in Heaven.  The views were breathtaking and I fell in love with the walkability of the town.  Oh, and The Coffee Fox, hands-down the best cold brew coffee I’ve ever had in my life.

Dressed and ready to go for the day, we headed out to our cooking class:  Summer Grilling at the 700 Cooking School at the sister hotel of the Bohemian, Mansion on Forsyth Park.  

Don’t worry, I’m saving a full post for that experience of a lifetime.

But can I just say that Big Guy is the best husband ever.  The fact that he found a way for me to cook on the 4th of July is beyond me and I was super impressed.

Post-cooking and eating, we set out to explore Savannah on foot.

We walked for hours and miles and I probably told Big Guy 18 times that I wanted to move to Savannah or somewhere like it.  Having the ability to walk places is high on my “want” list.

Big Guy made reservations at Local 11 ten for Friday night and I was so pumped once I saw the menu.  The restaurant has a rooftop bar, The Perch, so we arrived early to enjoy the outside air and the city.

While enjoying a champagne cocktail, we nibbled on par trois: pimento cheese, house pickles, rillette, crackers.

apps at local

The appetizer was absolutely delightful and I still couldn’t believe that I was in Savannah.

Post-cocktail hour, it was time to eat!  Unfortunately, the service in the restaurant was kind of spotty.  We asked a few questions and it took about 15 minutes for her to come back to our table.  But she didn’t come back with answers or drinks.

The food was delicious and I would return in a heartbeat, but I would ask for another server if she came towards my table.  Just sayin’.

I had one last envelope to open on Saturday morning and I was surprised to find that I would be getting a massage at the Mansion.  

We walked to get coffee (duh) and then continued on walking the streets of Savannah and exploring until it was time for my 2 hours of bliss.

champs

To note – the Mansion is also full of amazing art pieces.  The above piece of art belongs in my home.

The massage was absolutely relaxing and perfect.  Once again, best husband award.

Post-massage I was quite the noodle and it took me awhile to snap out of my relaxed mode.  But soon enough I was hungry and ventured out for more walking and eating.  We stumbled upon The Public Kitchen and Bar and we made the most out of a 30 minute wait by having cocktails.  Hey, it was Saturday.  And vacation.

I must add that the bartender was super impressive.  I ordered a glass of sparkling rose and there was a glass or so left in the bottle.  He tried a sip and deemed it not good enough (not enough bubbles) and opened a fresh bottle for me.  That is how you get a good tip, folks.

the public

Lunch totally hit the spot.  Big Guy ordered the messiest burger and it was burger perfection.  Cooked medium-rare, as requested, and required multiple napkins – sign of a good burger.  I went with the kale and arugula salad with salmon, which was also cooked to a perfect medium, as requested.

My only complaint, the rooftop bar wasn’t open and I was bummed.  I would go back no questions asked for lunch or dinner!

After lunch, we went out in search of the Owens-Thomas House for a tour.  While I’m not a huge history bluff, I love tours of homes and this one was no exception.  It’s believed to be the first house to have indoor plumbing and I loved imaging how people lived “back in the day.”

After a little more walking, it was time to get ready for our last night out in Savannah.  As sad as I was to see our trip coming to an end, I was so excited to eat at Elizabeth on 37th.  We went with the Chef’s Tasting and it was the most incredible food of the entire trip.  Holy deliciousness.  And the wine pairings were perfect.  We ate and drank to our hearts content.

Some favorite courses:  Broiled clams; sea scallops on a bed of the most amazing corn I’ve ever tasted; a butterbean soup that was beyond words and totally made me rethink the butterbean.  I was also blown away by the goat cheese cheesecake.  oh.em.gee.

We ended on the highest of high notes.

Last week at this time I would have never guessed or imagined that I would spend the 4th of July weekend in Savannah.  Sometimes life is funny.  And while I am a “planner” and probably will always have those tendencies,  I savored every morsel of this spontaneous weekend.  And you know, I am welcoming, with open arms, a little more spontaneity in my life.

I enjoyed every moment.  Every beautiful home.  Every delicious bite.  Every perfect sip of bubbles.  Every step in a lovely town.  Every laugh.  Every quiet moment.

Savannah, I fell for you.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Spontaneous Savannah

  1. Maybe I’ll put together a “blog” post (really just an email) just for you after our Portland adventure! I found another super cute place called “Cheese & Crack Snack Shop”. We’re only there for two days, I’m not sure how I’m going to narrow them down!!

  2. Pingback: 2014 Summer Bucket List {check-in time} | A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

