Friday Favorites {my makeup bag}

We’re not talking food today.  We’re going to talk makeup.  And while I’m no guru when it comes to face paint, I have found a few products that I am loyal to and purchase over and over again.  And the past month, I’ve discovered two new products that I’m obsessing over and I must share with you.

makeup

Let’s go from left to right, mmmmkay?

Up first, a new to me product that I discovered over on Jessica’s blog.

TOO FACED Milk Chocolate Soleil Light/Medium Matte Bronzer

You guys, this stuff smells like  chocolate.  In the past, I’ve used Benefit bronzer and while I liked it, I wasn’t in love.  But this bronzer is fail-proof.  It gives you just the perfect amount of bronze without looking like you’re orange.  Or like you have dirt smeared all over your face.  Another plus, it’s great for folks with fair skin (like me – Maggie, you would LOVE this).  Just try it.

I’ve been using Benefit eye makeup since college.  It’s a long-time favorite.  But they really make putting on eye makeup a cinch by creating a palette of the perfect neutrals in their line of products.

BENEFIT COSMETICS World Famous Neutrals – Easiest Nudes Ever

 

I’ve already run out of the top colors (my everyday look) so I purchased them individually.  The bottom colors are perfect for a night out with the girls or a fancy date night.  Now, if you’re someone that is cray-cray over makeup, this may be too basic for you.  But I’m a simple kind of gal when it comes to make-up and this makes me know I’m putting it on correctly.

The cheapest product in my makeup bag is my mascara.  But it’s also my favorite and most necessary product.  I’ve strayed away from CoverGirl a couple of times and I regret it every.single.time.

CoverGirl LashBlast Volume Mascara

It’s less than $8 and it’s never done me wrong.  I use the “black” and never waterproof.  You can buy this at any drugstore in any city.  Granted, I’ve been blessed with amazing lashes but they never clump with this stuff.

Under-eye circles.  Why?  I get plenty of sleep.  I eat well.  I drink lots of water.  But they’re there.  So I need to cover ’em up.  Erase Paste was in my stocking this past Christmas and I’ve been a believer since (in Santa Claus and the concealer).  You can also use it other places on your face – like if you’re 31 and a random zit pops up and you never even had zits when you were young.  Also, this stuff will last you a while.  So it’s totally an investment.

BENEFIT COSMETICS Erase Paste

And while we’re talking about under eyes, let’s talk about Stay, Don’t Stray.  You put this on after your foundation (or BB cream or tinted moisturizer) and before your concealer.  It’s supposed to help keep everything in place.  I haven’t stopped using it since my wedding.  My friend (who also did my makeup) introduced me to this stuff and I’ve just kept on using it.  I put make-up on fairly early in the day.  Like before 7am.  And I don’t look washed out and sad by 7pm.  So that’s a win.

BENEFIT COSMETICS Stay Don’t Stray

Another thing that also helps with my makeup staying in place, a primer.  

SMASHBOX Iconic Photo Finish Foundation Primer

 

I put this on my face before I put any other makeup on.  And it feels amazing.  It really helps give you a flawless look.  In fact, I need to go order some more now.

Another new item in my makeup bag, my blush.  NARS blush is advertised everywhere as being “the best.”  In fact, it was just recently in Southern Living of all magazines and I decided then and there that I must try it.  And it’s perfect.

NARS Blush in Orgasm

This peachy pink with shimmer shade is universally flattering.  Life Face changing.

I am currently on the hunt for a new BB cream or tinted moisturizer.  While I love my Target brand I want to see what else is out there.  I’ve heard great things about Chanel’s products.

So there you have it.  My must-have makeup products.  I do spend a little more on some items but I find that the quality is better and that it lasts longer making it worth the price.  Except for mascara.  Cheap has served me well in that area.

Anyways, enough beauty talk for one day.

What’s the one MUST have item in your makeup bag?

6 thoughts on “Friday Favorites {my makeup bag}

  1. Going out to buy some of these products now! Love the random non-food post!! Always keeping things exciting EB Watson!

  2. How amazing is the smashbox primer? I use it every single morning! I think I might have to check out the eye makeup! Love the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

