Salmon with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes and Zucchini

Last night was another “single girl” dinner.  Thankfully I enjoy Big Guy being gone here and there so that I can cook salmon at home.  Since he’s an anti-salmon man, it’s my go-to when I want a delicious dinner for one.  (I buy the Simply Balanced brand of frozen salmon at Target.  It’s delicious, wild-caught and thaws out in about 30 minutes.)

Last night I turned to cookinglight.com to find a recipe using salmon and ingredients I had on hand.  I had a handful of cherry tomatoes that were begging to be used and I had just picked up some zucchini at the Farmers Market yesterday morning.

Salmon with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes didn’t require many other ingredients and it also didn’t require too much prep work.

In a small bowl I tossed the cherry tomatoes with a teaspoon of basil-infused olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic and dried oregano (it was pouring outside and I was not about to get soaking wet for a few herbs).

On a small sheet pan, I roasted the tomatoes at 400 degrees for 15 minutes along with the zucchini that I had sliced and seasoned with salt and pepper.

Once the oven timer went off, I added the salmon to the same sheet pan (minimal clean-up is awesome!) along with a sprinkle of salt and pepper and a splash of my favorite fig balsamic vinegar and I roasted for 10 minutes more.

So simple, so healthy and so delicious.

The tomatoes were bursting (literally) with flavor and the zucchini were perfectly cooked.  The salmon was tender and flaky with so much flavor from the tomato juice, garlic and oregano.

Do you have a meal that you adore that your significant other won’t touch?

 

2 thoughts on “Salmon with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes and Zucchini

Leave a Reply

