Warm Brown Rice and Edamame Salad with Blueberries and Goat Cheese

Sometimes I follow a recipe exactly.  This is not one of those recipes.  I knew that I was having a “single girl” dinner last night but I wanted more than just a snack plate of crackers, veggies and cheese.

I took the lead from a recipe in the latest edition of Cooking Light but made changes based on what was in my kitchen and what’s in season here in NC.

The combination of brown rice, edamame, blueberries and goat cheese might seem a little strange but I promise it tastes delicious.  Bonus – there are leftovers for my lunch the next couple of days.

rice blubes

In a large bowl, I mixed together a pouch of Uncle Ben’s precooked brown rice, a sliced green onion, a handful of basil from the garden, 1 cup of blueberries, 1 tablespoon of EVOO, 2 tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper.

I then portioned out a serving and mixed it with 1/2 cup of shelled, cooked edamame and crumbled about 1 ounce of blueberry goat cheese (from Trader Joes) on top.

The heat from the rice and the edamame made the blueberries sweetness a perfect addition to the bowl.  The goat cheese was creamy while the fresh basil really added some freshness to the dinner.

Chickpeas would be amazing in this but all I had was edamame and black beans on hand.  And while cherries would have added a welcome tartness, blueberries are coming into season and cherries are harder to find (plus you have to pit them – which is literally the pits).

So there you have it, my interpretation of a recipe that I saw in a magazine but made changes to suit what I had and what was available at the grocery store.

p.s. I am in love with our blooming flamingo plume hibiscus!

p.s.s. I love the Waterlogue app!

 

2 thoughts on “Warm Brown Rice and Edamame Salad with Blueberries and Goat Cheese

Leave a Reply

