Brown Butter Gnocchi with Spinach and Pine Nuts

My Dad is one of the most wonderful men in the whole wide world.  And while Father’s Day is a couple of weeks away, I couldn’t help but think of him as we ate this dinner.

You see, as wonderful as my Dad is, he rather random.  And sometimes he has a hard time remembering how to pronounce certain foods and drinks.

For example:  What do you call one of my favorite drinks that involves Champagne and orange juice?

Most people would say, “Mimosa.”

But not my Dad.

He called that a “Hermosa.”

Sometimes I laugh hysterically, unable to control the noise.  And other times I just shake my head.

Because let’s be honest, I have had more than one “hermosa” in my life.  And to be sure I’ve said this word a multitude of times around him.  Even if only on Christmas morning.

Another example:  What’s the word for little pasta-like pillows made of potatoes?

This is a harder one, I’ll give him that.

“Gnocchi.”

The best way I can describe this pronunciation is “no-key.”  Obviously I’m not an English major or teacher.

But he pronounces it differently every single time.  I can’t even type what it sounds like when he says the word.

But it’s hilarious.

And it’s just one of the billions of reasons why I love my Dad oh-so-much.

And it’s why I thought of him more than once last night while fixing and enjoying Browned Butter Gnocchi with Spinach and Pine Nuts.  

Despite have a name that’s not the easiest to pronounce, the dish comes together in no time at all.  Gnocchi only need to cook a couple of minutes in boiling water.  And I used pre-packaged gluten-free gnocchi from Harris Teeter.  I found these little gems near the hummus.

gnocchi 002

 

This particular brand exceeded my expectations and made dinner such a cinch.

While bringing the water to a boil, the butter begins to melt and brown in another skillet.  The pine nuts and garlic are sauteed in the butter before adding the cooked gnocchi and spinach.

A simple sprinkle of salty cheese (a 3-cheese blend in my case)  finishes the dish in less than 15 minutes.

gnocchi 003

This brand also makes a plain potato gnocchi but I loved the sweet potato flavor.  I’m pretty sure there was some nutmeg or cinnamon in the gnocchi that paired perfectly with the browned butter and spinach.

And even though this was our main course (and only course), it would make a perfect small plate if you were serving a fancy meal.  Just make the portions smaller.

Food is so much more than food in my life.

And this particular food was one that brought a smile to my face as I thought of how my Dad pronounces “gnocchi.”

One thought on “Brown Butter Gnocchi with Spinach and Pine Nuts

  1. I want that … TJ’s makes a pretty good sweet potato gnocchi we discovered recently as well. I think almost everything should be made of sweet potatoes.

Leave a Reply

