Weekend Review {supper club, Saturday and a perfect Sunday}

Good morning, friends!  Surprisingly I am finding myself feel very refreshed and ready to tackle the week ahead on this Monday morning.  I have a busy week but there’s a few fun things thrown in that I have to look forward to. Let’s get right to the weekend review and everything that was beautiful this past weekend.

Friday night we headed to the Club for Supper Club.  Our supper club group gets together four times a year for dinner and it’s always a good time.

The dinner was delicious but the dessert was by far my favorite.  It was a sour cream cake with the most delicious frosting ever.

On Saturday I decided not to set an alarm and wanted to truly savor the day.  No rushing around, no plans.  Just a day of relaxation and fun.

Of course we were still up and at ’em.  We headed to the Farmers Market and browsed all the fresh and delicious produce.  I ended up bringing home (not pictured) some lettuce, potatoes, zucchini, strawberries, green onions and farm fresh eggs.  I adore the Farmers Market and plan to go every Saturday we’re in town, well, unless our garden is out of control with produce.

After running a few more errands, I headed to the pool.  Just me, a new book and four life guards.  I was the only one there for a good hour.  Pure bliss.

Saturday evening we had a double date with friends at our house.  It was an absolute perfect evening.

First of all, I’m obsessed with this tray that I snagged from Target.  Isn’t it adorable?  Like I promised, I experimented with gin on Saturday and made Strawberry Basil Gin and Tonics Sodas.  So refreshing!  The strawberries from the Farmers Market made the strawberry puree extra delicious.  I may just be a fan of gin after all.

Dinner was delicious but the company was even more amazing.  We snacked on an appetizer for Goat Pimiento Cheese while chatting away.  The pimiento cheese was an grown-up twist to the Southern favorite.  For dinner, Coffee-Crusted Strip Steaks with Chimichurri Sauce.  On the side, Grilled Endive and Roasted Potatoes (not pictured).  For the steak seasoning, I used a coffee rub that we had made a couple of months ago when we had some Kona coffee that was begging to be used in a rub.  The chimichurri sauce was out of this world.  I love having fresh herbs right out the back door.

S’mores!  As the sun went down, it got a little cool outside but it was perfect for a fire pit.  I haven’t had s’mores in forever and they were a huge hit.  There’s just something about s’mores that makes you feel like a big kid.  Along with the graham crackers, I made some cookies to use for the sweet sandwich – Flourless Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies.  I really didn’t want the evening to end.

On Sunday, we took it slow but eventually headed out to grab a light lunch at Milton and Miles.  We don’t have many lunch places around town so it’s nice to have this little sandwich and salad place.  This is one of the new additions to the menu for Spring:  The Spring Salad.  Loaded with fruit, jicama, candied pecans, feta and green onions.  So refreshing and light.

Sunday afternoon Big Guy smoked some chicken and we just enjoyed the sunshine.

More details on Sunday dinner tomorrow.

But I can’t not mention dessert.

Homemade Strawberry-Pretzel Ice Cream.  Seriously.

Cream cheese was a new-to-me homemade ice cream ingredient but the end result was perfection.  The pretzels added saltiness that was much appreciated while the hint of basil really made me feel fancy.  Make this ice cream now – strawberries are on their last weeks of being in season but they made this ice cream over the top.

I savored every last bite of this past weekend.  Literally.

 

Leave a Reply

