Chicken Scaloppine with Peperonata {and Happy Mother’s Day}

I love Spring for many reasons.

Warmer weather.

Sunshine.

Fun weekend plans.

Gardening.

Fresh produce and herbs.

Last nights dinner prep was gorgeous.

Bright and vibrant bell peppers, juicy and plump tomatoes, pungent but incredible delicious garlic and fresh picked herbaceous  basil.

This was the first time of the year to use something fresh from the garden and I’m so excited (and ready) for the rest of the produce to flourish.

All of the veggies stewed in a skillet with olive oil while the chicken cooked butter for added richness and incredible flavor.

The chicken breasts were cut into half to make cutlets and then sprinkled with brown rice flour for a slight crust on the outside.

The veggies were finished with a splash or two of balsamic vinegar and the basil which had been made into “confetti.”

The sun was shining so bright that I couldn’t get away from the shadows.

But I’ll take shadows any day if I can eat dinner outside in the sunshine.

This weekend is a full one but I’m always happy to see Friday.

 

And since I won’t be posting over the weekend, Happy Mothers Day to the most AMAZING Momma.  There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t wish I lived a little closer to you and Daddy.  I am proud to see more and more of you in my mannerisms each and every day.  One day when I have babies a baby I can only pray to be half the Momma that you are.  I love you.

 

And my mother-in-laws!  I am so blessed to not only have two mother-in-laws but to have two awesome mother-in-laws.  You don’t just marry a guy, you marry the guy and his family and you have become just that – my family.

 

 

And last but certainly not least – to my little sister.  Happy Momma’s Day to YOU!  I love you oh-so-much and wish there were less miles between me, you, Brad, Haines and Baby R (do we have a nickname yet?!?!).

Leave a Reply

