Oven-Fried Chicken with Sweet Honey Bourbon Sauce

I’ve had a hankering for fried chicken lately.  And while I know I’ll never crank out fried chicken like Ashley Christensen at Beasley’s Chicken and Honey (though I still owe Big Guy a date here) this oven-fried chicken totally hit the spot.

chicken 009

 

The chicken first soaks in buttermilk for at least a couple of hours.  Don’t skip this step!  The buttermilk not only adds flavor but it makes the chicken extra tender and juicy.

The chicken is then dredged in a mixture of crushed corn flakes, panko (I used gluten-free), flour (I used brown-rice flour), chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, smoked paprika, salt and pepper.

A little butter is drizzled over the chicken before baking.  I used bone-in chicken thighs and they took about 30 minutes to cook (after 15 minutes, I flipped the chicken).

Once cooked, the chicken is drizzled with a homemade sweet honey bourbon sauce.  The sauce may have been Big Guy’s favorite part of the meal.

Bourbon and honey are the base of this delicious sauce (I used less honey than the recipe called for) that becomes super thick and finger-licking good.

On the side, sauteed green beans.

chicken 007

I couldn’t resist spending even more time outside.  The weather was just so perfect.

Crunchy.

Sweet.

Savory.

Crispy.

Messy.

Tender.

A little spicy.

Juicy.

This chicken was everything I wanted and more.

One thought on “Oven-Fried Chicken with Sweet Honey Bourbon Sauce

Leave a Reply

