Fig Balsamic Chicken with Olives and Wanuts

We’ll get to the recipe in a minute.  But first I need to introduce you to one of my new favorite ingredients:

I can’t even remember what sparked me to buy a bottle of this balsamic vinegar but I’m obsessed.  In fact, I’m already on my second bottle.  (found at Harris Teeter)

I’ve used in several recipes that called for (boring) balsamic and I’ve also used it to make a simple salad dressing by adding a little oil, salt and pepper.  It’s sweet and rich.  Just like I want my men.

Just kidding.

Anyways, I used this precious product in a chicken dish I made on Wednesday night.  I thought it might add a little somethin’-somethin’ to the chicken.  And it did.

And delicious somethin’-somethin’ is what it was.

Fig Balsamic Chicken with Walnuts and Olives comes together in a flash and will please just about any one at your dinner table.  Even with the olives in the title.

I think we’ve touched on this before, but Big Guy isn’t an olive fan.  I wasn’t really until recently (these days there’s not a lot I don’t like).  The great thing about this recipe is that the olives are totally optional.  In fact, they’re not added until the end.  So if you have a Big Guy in the family, just leave it off their chicken and add more walnuts.

The chicken thighs are first browned in a large dutch oven.  Once browned, they are removed and the shallots are added and then removed once browned.  Next the balsamic (FIG! for the win) vinegar is added along with the thyme, chicken broth, and soy sauce (I used tamari) to deglaze the bottom of the pan.  All those brown bits are full of flavor.  Don’t let them get left behind!  I left out the brown sugar since I was using a sweeter balsamic.

Once all that is in the pot, add the chicken and the shallots back and reduce the heat.  Allow the flavors to come together while the chicken finishes cooking.

I served by chicken on top of slightly sauteed spinach.  Sprinkle walnuts and olives on top for a crunchy, salty addition to this gorgeous plate of food.  I added another little sprinkle of minced thyme for maximum flavor.

This chicken was way better than I ever expected.  The flavor of the chicken is incredible.  You don’t even need the olives and walnuts (though I wouldn’t leave them off).

Who knew that fig balsamic vinegar and a little bit of tamari could make chicken taste like it came out of a restaurant kitchen?

Now I know.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

