Thai Tuna Salad {plus Thursday tidbits}

Happy Thursday!  Friday is on the horizon and I am more than ready for it’s arrival.

On Wednesday night I had the most delicious dinner.  I had picked up a sashimi grade tuna steak at Fresh Market on Sunday since I knew I would be flying solo for dinner a night or two this week.  On the menu:  Pan-Seared Thai Tuna Salad.  

The tuna was seared in grapeseed oil for less than 2 minutes on each side after being seasoned with salt and pepper.  In no way did I want to hide the flavors of the tuna so I kept things simple.

In the salad mix:  salad greens, mushrooms, cucumber slices, red onion and cilantro.  I adore cilantro and it really adds Thai-flare to the salad.

The dressing is really where the Thai flavors shine.  The dressing was a simple mix of lime juice, rice vinegar, sesame oil and sambal oelek.

Such a bright and fresh salad.  This is a salad of my dreams.

On Thursday morning I completed the #greensmoothieapril challenge.  Thirty days, thirty smoothies.  My last smoothie was one of my favorites.

This particular smoothie was inspired by one of my favorite candy bars, Mounds.

In the mix:  1 cup almond-coconut blend milk, vanilla protein powder, a banana, a tablespoon of almond butter, a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder, spinach and ice.

So delicious!!!

I loved the smoothie challenge and I even tried a few new smoothies throughout the month.  But I can’t lie, I am so excited about adding some of my favorite breakfasts back into the rotation.  And April was kind of cold weather-wise, there were many mornings when I drove to work with numb fingers from such a cold breakfast.

And on a final note.

Can I please go back to Scrub Island?  A year ago we were on our honeymoon and I would do just about anything to be on a tropical island again.

Leave a Reply

