The Fearrington House Restaurant {Chef’s Tasting}

“Celebrated cuisine… in an elegant village of charm.”

“Chef Bedford serves a menu of European Cuisine with Southern influences – A true taste of the region and the senses.”

I’ve been dreaming of this dinner since January.  And it was everything I wanted and more.

One glance at the Chef’s Tasting and I knew we were in for a treat.  Despite it being a AAA Five Diamond Restaurant, they didn’t seem to mind me snapping a picture of the plates.  But they aren’t the highest quality photos as I wanted to enjoy my dinner.  So I apologize now for the dark photos – there was no way I was going to retake a picture because of darkness.

Amuse Bouche

photo 1

First Course
Celery Root & Foie Gras Soup
Candied Ginger Cake, Muscat, Rhubarb, Mustard, Farro

photo 2

Second Course
Seared Squab with Roasted Sunchokes & Smoked Quinoa
Fava Beans, Strawberry, Aged Balsamic, Green Onion

photo 3

Third Course
Lobster Ravioli with “Waldorf Salad” & Caviar Cream
Celery, Radish, Walnut, Apple

photo 4

Main Course
Roasted Lamb Loin with Confit Garlic Potato Fondant & Mint Sauce
English Peas, Maitake, Thumbelina Carrots, Ice Wine

photo 5

Cheese Course
Tasting of Montgomery Cheddar with Fried Quail Egg
Pistachio, Beet, Sorrel

photo 1 (1)

Pre Dessert

Dessert
Opalys White Chocolate & Buttermilk Mousse with Strawberry Ripple Ice Cream
Basil, Rhubarb, White Chocolate, Lemon

photo 2 (1)

Valrhona Cœur de Guanaja Chocolate Soufflé
Dark Chocolate, Vanilla, Whipped Cream

photo 3 (1)

I wasn’t served anything that I didn’t like.  It was all incredible.  So many tastes.  So many flavors.

A Chef’s Tasting is a truly unique experience and I will never take for granted the opportunity to experience a meal of this caliber.

The first course is one of the most memorable of the night.  The Foie  Gras melted in my mouth and was balanced with the sweetness from the gingerbread flavor of the cake.  Decadent beyond belief.
I’ve never had a “soup” like this in my life.

The second course stands out in my mind, too.  I seriously have never tasted such amazing flavor combinations.  And the squab was cooked perfectly.
I might add that the wine paired with this dish was my favorite of the night.

The third course was also phenomenal.  But how can you go wrong with homemade pasta and lobster?

And dessert.  Oh, dessert.  Chef Bedford was actually on the Today Show several months ago and made the souffle.  It is their signature dessert.  Dare I say it was almost too sweet?

The first dessert was by far my favorite sweet treat.  The strawberry-basil ice cream needs to be recreated at home soon.  We’ve talked about this ice cream multiple times since the meal ended.

Wine pairings with a Chef’s Tasting is a must if you love wine like I do.  You get to try so many different varietals in one setting that make sense with the food you’re served.

And in case you’re curious, here are the wine pairings that we enjoyed:

First Course:
Schloss Schonborn, Riesling Spatlese, Holle, Rheingau, Germany 1991

Second Course:
Anthill Farms, Pinot Noir, Campbell Vineyards
Annapolis, Sonoma, California, USA 2012

Third Course:
Chateau Galevan, Blanc, Chateauneuf du Pape, Rhone Valley, France 2011

Main Course:
La Rioja S.A., Gran Reserva 904, Rioja Alta, Spain 2000

Cheese Course:
Marco di Bartoli, La Vigna Micca, Marsala d’Oro Superiore, Sicily, Italy MV

First Dessert:
Inniskillin, Ice Wine of Cabernet Franc, Niagra Peninsula, Canada 2012

Second Dessert:
Niepoort, 20 Year Tawny Port

Nothing in this world makes me happier than my trying new restaurants and eating spectacular food with my husband.

Thank you, Fearrington House Staff and Chef Bedford for making our anniversary so memorable.

And if I have any say, we’ll be back sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

