Black Bean Cakes with Ginger-Cilantro Cream

Menu planning can be a lifesaver.  I try and sit down on Sunday for 20 minutes or so to write out the menu for the week as well as make my list.  Grocery shopping typically takes place on Sunday but this week since we were out of town for the weekend I did my grocery shopping on Monday.

I purposefully put Black Bean Cakes with Ginger-Cilantro Cream on the menu for Monday so that I could have leftovers for lunch the rest of the week.

photo

I followed the recipe exactly, only using gluten-free panko and subbing Greek yogurt instead of  the sour cream.

The black bean cakes are full of flavor from the spice combination.  Cumin, ground coriander and crushed red pepper provide a depth of flavor (and some heat).  I found that using butter to cook the cakes made for a crunchy exterior on the cakes that I adored.  No body wants a soggy black bean cake.

The cream balanced the heat of the cakes perfectly with the cilantro adding freshness to the overall dish.  I would add more ginger next time and perhaps a squeeze of lime to really brighten up the plate.

On the side, a simple salad.

By the way, I’m really excited about my lunch today…

Leave a Reply

