20-Minute Chicken Enchiladas

In order to use up corn tortillas that kept eyeing me in the fridge, I put 20-Minute Chicken Enchiladas on the menu for the week.  But I’m going to go ahead and warn you, they took me 35 minutes to prepare.  Considering you make your own enchilada sauce, though, I’d say 35 minutes isn’t too shabby.

Restaurant enchiladas are loaded with calories and not-so-healthy fat.  But these enchiladas are full of protein and fiber and there’s not a drop of oil in the recipe.

 

The sauce is made from chicken broth, onions, tomato sauce, chili powder, cumin, crushed red pepper flakes, garlic powder and cornstarch (about 1/2 tablespoon to thicken the sauce instead of flour).  While the sauce was simmering away, I shredded the rotisserie chicken.  Seriously, the best buy you can make at the grocery store.  I left the black beans out of the recipe – no particular reason – but I didn’t really miss them.  Unfortunately I only had about 1/2 cup cheese so I rolled with that.  Once the sauce is made and the chicken is shredded, the rest of the recipe is a piece of cake enchilada.  Fill each warmed corn tortilla with the chicken (which is added to the sauce) and arrange in a prepared baking dish.  The top is smothered with more of the delicious sauce and cheese.  Since the tortillas are warmed before they’re filled and the chicken is warmed from the sauce all you really have to do is melt the cheese.  The enchiladas are thrown into the oven for less than 5 minutes and dinner is ready.

enchilada 002

 

I topped the hot enchiladas with a sprinkling of cilantro and some pickled jalapenos for added heat.  I served the enchiladas on top of shredded purple cabbage for some added nutrients.

Delightfully delicious and filling.

One thought on “20-Minute Chicken Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

