Luau Menu {plus recipe links}

I love hosting a party.  One of my favorite parts of hosting comes way before the guests ever arrive.  I adore menu planning.  Everything from the drinks to the desserts.  Big Guy and I have been tossing around menu ideas for weeks now but the final menu came together perfectly.

luau 002

Hawaiian Luau

To drink:

Beer including Hawaiian brews
Wine
Seaside Sunrise
(signature drink)

Appetizers:

Caramelized Maui Onion Dip
Bacon Wrapped Pineapple Bites
Guacamole (prepared by Kristen)
Honey Roasted Macadamia Nuts
Maui Peanuts

Main Meal:

Smoked Hawaiian BBQ Pulled Pork Sliders with Grilled Pineapple Relish
Coconut Lime Shrimp Skewers
Uncle Jeff’s Tater Salad

Dessert:
(a big thank you to Marlo for these delicious treats)

Strawberry Trifle
Oreo Truffles

luau 001

Y’all, everything turned out perfectly.  I wasn’t too impressed with the bacon wrapped pineapple but I think that was my error.  I wrapped the pineapple earlier in the day and I think the pineapple enzymes broke down the bacon.  They tasted amazing but they just weren’t pretty.

luau 003

The shrimp were really different than you’re usual shrimp cocktail.  They marinated in a mix of coconut milk, lime zest, lime juice and ginger.  A sprinkling of toasted coconut finished off the grilled shrimp.

luau 004

This potato salad is one of my favorite potato salads to date.  Sure it has some mayo in the mix but it’s not overwhelming at all.  The hot, cooked potatoes are tossed in white vinegar before anything else is mixed in – a trick I had never used before.  A little mustard and dill pickle relish gave the potato salad some zip.  I will be making this again for the next cookout we go to.

luau 005

I really enjoyed the sweet pineapple relish that went with the pork sliders.  Lots of flavors in the mix – including jalapeno and red onion.  This would make a delicious salsa on it’s own, too.

Now I just need another party to plan a menu for…

4 thoughts on “Luau Menu {plus recipe links}

Leave a Reply

