Weekend Review {date night out and a Hawaiian Luau}

Good morning!  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend.  This past weekend was absolutely wonderful!

On Friday night, Big Guy took me out for date night at On the Square.  It’s one of our favorite restaurants and I’m never disappointed.  A glass of champs was absolutely necessary.  Because it was Friday.  And date night.

To start, I ordered the Fried Mozzarella Salad:  Mixed Greens, Roasted Red Peppers, Basil Aioli, Balsamic Vinaigrette.  

The salads never disappoint.  The flavors were incredible.

And for dinner, Oyakodon: Braised Springer Mountain Chicken, Local Egg, Pickled Cucumber.

This dish was unlike any plate I’ve ever ordered at On the Square.  The chicken was prepared in a couple of different ways but I particularly liked the briased chicken thigh the best.  Scrambled eggs and rice provided a fried rice-like bed for the chicken.  To go with this entree, the sommelier paired the dish with a Pinot Noir that matched perfectly.

On Saturday, we were up with the chickens to get a start to our day.  Big Guy started cooking the pork butts at 5:15am and then proceeded to work in the yard all day.  After my gym session, I was busy with party prep, including running a few errands and running around the kitchen for most of the day.  But it was totally worth all the work.

We hosted a luau at our house and five of our favorite couples joined us.  The weather was absolute perfection.  I’ll share the menu tomorrow – everything was delicious.

How fantastic is this apron?  It gave us all a good laugh.  And yep, check out the fire pit.  Big Guy did a great job.  Super impressed.

I see us spending many more nights out here with friends.

Sunday was a slow day.  But a productive day.  After running the dishwasher three times, I think we finally cleaned up from the party.  After cleaning up, we settled in to watch “Wolf of Wall Street.”

Later in the week I’ll share a new smoothie recipe (I’m going strong after 7 days).

What did you do this weekend?

Leave a Reply

