Top of the morning to you!

Happy St. Patty’s Day!  I hope you’re all wearing your green today.  Not only am I wearing my green but I enjoyed a green smoothie this morning.  But it wasn’t my typical green smoothie.

Shamrock Protein Smoothie

In this mix:  almond milk, 1/2 a banana, frozen spinach (green!), protein powder, hemp seeds and peppermint extract.

Big Guy and I actually “celebrated” St. Patty’s Day on Thursday.  The country club hosted an Irish Whiskey Tasting along with an Irish-inspired menu on Thursday night.  While I wasn’t on board with the whiskey (champagne, please!) the food was incredible.  Funny story though – Big Guy thought Thursday was St. Patty’s Day because of the event.  Whomp, whomp.

Chef Ryan and Josh

Anyways, back to my Irish meal.  I honestly had made my mind up before I even saw the menu.  I had told myself if Shepherd’s Pie was on the menu, that’s what I was getting.  And it was on the menu.  But I wanted the Chef’s opinion, too.  And his first recommendation was the Shepherd’s Pie.  I was sold.

Shepherd’s Pie

This dish was incredible.  The BEST shepherd’s pie I have EVER eaten.  Rich and hearty.  Just what Shepherd’s Pie should be.  Big Guy enjoyed bangers and mash (only after he tried to tell me he was going to order chicken wings and I wasn’t having that).

And because I couldn’t resist – Guinness Chocolate Cake with Bailey’s Frosting.

 

How are you celebrating St. Patty’s Day?

And just so you know – I’m celebrating by eating something green at every meal today.  I know, living on the wild side.

Leave a Reply

