Weekend Review {rainy pizza night, Supper club plus wings and sunshine}

Let’s rewind to Friday evening…

Friday night was pizza night.  It was rainy and gross outside but a delicious Fennel, Sausage and Ricotta Pizza along with a glass of wine made the rain totally manageable.  And for some green, a Broiled Romaine Salad with Fennel Caesar Dressing.  Nothing makes me happier than pizza.

On Saturday morning, I had to rise and shine to head to Raleigh for a work event.  After 4 hours of learning about school gardens I was really ready to get my weekend started.

One of our favorite couples stopped by before we left for supper club for a drink and to catch up.  So needed.

And then it was time for the big event of the weekend.  Our third Young Adult Supper Club!  I adore going to supper club, which takes place at the country club but there are different hosts for each dinner.  The hosts this weekend did an amazing job!  The room was beautifully decorated (some light blue accents for the Carolina/Duke game) and the menu couldn’t have been more enticing.  A huge shout out to Chef Ryan – like I told him Saturday night, this may have been the best plate he’s ever served me.

There were several passed appetizers during cocktail hour but the real star of the show – the salad and main course.  Holy deliciousness.  The salad was a chilled green and white asparagus salad with deviled quail eggs.  The dressing was amazing.  And then the main course – I wanted to lick my plate clean.  A Cabernet braised short rib with fried mac ‘n cheese.  Seriously.  The short rib was cooked to absolute perfection.  I cannot get over the flavors!  And that sauce!  Ryan knows how to make a sauce, my friends.  Thank you again for such a fun night and delicious menu.

Post-dinner, we headed into the bar for more drinks, catching up and to watch the basketball game.  Let’s be honest though, I didn’t watch the basketball game.

On Sunday morning, after peeling myself out of bed, Big Guy and I headed out to grab some lunch and go to the grocery store.  A restaurant in the next town over just started serving brunch on Sundays and we thought it was the perfect opportunity to give it a try.  Quince has an outside patio and the weather was simply too beautiful not to sit outside.  The food was delicious and I’m excited to have a new place to go for a Sunday lunch that’s not quite as far as Raleigh.

And we finished the weekend with sunshine.  Wings and sunshine.  Big Guy really wanted to grill since the weather was so amazing and I couldn’t have agreed more with that decision.  After looking through my Pinterest page for inspiration, we finally decided on Spicy Asian-Style Hot Wings.  Lately we’ve been loving Asian-inspired meals.  Instead of baking them, we grilled the wings.  The sauce is a mixture of fresh squeezed orange juice, sugar (we reduced the amount to 1/4 cup), Chinese Five Spice, garlic (I doubled the amount of garlic), chili garlic sauce, and mirin.  Sweet, salty and spicy.  The perfect flavor combination.

And now it’s Monday.

Back to the grind.

Leave a Reply

