Insta-Lately

Here’s the details behind a few of my ‘grams this past week:

With all the snow last week, I had to find a way to get in a workout without leaving the house.  Thankfully I have some at-home-workouts “pinned” on Pinterest.  This one had me sweating up a storm.

Last Saturday, during our adventure in Raleigh, we dined at Platesa fairly new restaurant on Glenwood Avenue in Raleigh.  The menu changes weekly, so I have a feeling we’ll be going to this lunch and dinner spot more than once.  To start, we shared the  Charcuterie Plate.  I was pleasantly surprised with the plate.

Assorted pâtés, terrines, cured meats, turkey
and rabbit rillettes, cheese, toast, pickles.

Since we had an appetizer, I kept my meal simple with the Roasted Beet Salad.  The colors on the plate were incredible.

Red roasted beets, chèvre, beetroot puree,
beetroot reduction, croutons, herb jus

 Along with the beets, some heirloom tomatoes.  Big Guy ordered a panini and it was amazing.  Super crunchy on the outside with ooey-gooey cheese on the inside.  Sandwich perfection.  To be honest, I was a little nervous about going to Plates after a not-so-pleasant encounter at plates about a month ago.  But the service was impeccable and the food was local, fresh and delicious.  I can’t wait to go back for dinner or to just snag a specialty cocktail.

My Valentine flowers are still looking gorgeous on the kitchen table.  I’m thinking these may be my new favorite flower (sorry, tulips).

On Tuesday night, I had dinner plans with some gal pals.  Not only was this wine necessary but it was appropriate.  Tuesday was National Drink Wine Day.

Sushi is always a good idea.  Especially with wine and gal pals.

Check out the color of this smoothie that I had Wednesday morning.  So vibrant.  Whole Foods had purple sweet potatoes and I just couldn’t pass up buying one on Saturday.  It made it’s way into my smoothie on Sunday morning, too.

TGIalmostF!

Leave a Reply

