Insta-Lately {the last 10 days}

Back to the real world!  I have so much to share about our trip to Hawaii including some fantastic dinners, amazing views and a picture-perfect wedding.  Hawaii was everything and nothing that I expected, both at the same time.  Here’s what I’ve been up to lately on Instagram…

The week we were to leave for Hawaii, a “snow storm” hit eastern NC.  Let’s just say I was more than ready to pack up my Lilly clothes and sun screen and get the heck outta here!

By the time we made it to LAX last Thursday, I was more than ready for a drink.  Vacation had only just begun.

After 20 hours of traveling, we arrived in Hawaii.  I was so tired I didn’t even have the energy to pop open the champagne.

But the long day of travel was totally worth this view on Friday morning.

Any trip to Hawaii must involve a frozen drink or two.  ‘Da Lime in da Coconut was one of my favorite drinks for pool side sippin’.  I was obsessed with the real flakes of coconut with every sip.

The Chef’s Table at the Canoe House was one of the highlights of the trip.  I promise I’ll have a whole post dedicated to this dinner.  Two words though, Mexican melons.

After a day of exploring, nothing tasted better than a Cocojito.  Basically a mojito that was made for me.

No trip to Hawaii is complete without a luau.  “The more your hips move, the better the story.”  Might I add that Big Guy went up on stage at one point.  And there’s video to prove it.

Bright and early on Sunday morning we arrived for our helicopter tour.  Words cannot even describe this experience.

Once-in-a-lifetime-views.

Seriously.  Breath-taking views.

While the boys fished, the ladies went on a Kona coffee plantation tour.  Let’s just say I know why Kona coffee is so expensive now.  One tree produces one pound of a coffee a year!

Sushi!!!!!  Everything I wanted and more.

The first time I’ve ever had my feet in the Pacific Ocean.  I’m such an East Coast gal.

The lady of the week at her rehearsal dinner.

Only my favorite animal ever.  I really wanted to bring one home.

The wedding day finally arrived!  And a beautiful wedding it was.

Another day, another adventure.  This time to the black sand beaches where sea turtles own the coast line.

And of course we had to stop here and have a drink.  The southern-most bar in the US.

Our last dinner was epic.  Such a gorgeous location.

Can every date-night include waves crashing?

Big Guy wanted his picture taken in the lava tunnel.  The amount of lava on the island was insane.

Our final stop (well, not counting Target) was the Kona Brewing Company.  Loved sampling all the local brewed beers.  And the pizza was incredible.

And here we are today.  Back to regular programming.  Coffee and a green smoothie were more than necessary to get this Monday started.

2 thoughts on “Insta-Lately {the last 10 days}

  1. I must see this video you speak of!! And I’m still upset that you didn’t bring a pretty, pink flamingo home in your carry on bag! I was hoping for a surprise!!

    • The video is great. I was laughing so hard I could barely take pictures. Speaking of pictures – I just uploaded a bunch to Facebook. And I miss you!!! I promise to make it up to you…not bringing you a flamingo, that is.

Leave a Reply

