Teriyaki Chicken and Carrots with Black Sesame and Ginger

Nothing makes me happier in life than cooking dinner for Big Guy during the week.  I love being in the kitchen and cooking a healthy and delicious meal for us both.

Most days I start cooking dinner before he gets home from work.  I at least like to get the prep work started – cutting up the carrots, marinating the chicken – before he walks through the door.

Some evenings it’s an intensive recipe and takes some time in the kitchen.  Other evenings I keep it simple and the meal takes 15 minutes to prepare.

Big Guy usually walks through the door around 6pm.  I always hear the garage door before I hear him.  And  I make sure the local news channel is turned on (as opposed to what I’d usually be watching…DVRed Rachael Ray or House Hunters) so he can catch up with the happenings of the day before dinner.

I try to have the table set.  But sometimes I leave that chore up to him.  He is always responsible for filling the glasses with water.

Through the clanging of the pots and pans, we catch up on the day.

Sometimes I have more to say than he does.

But he always asks “What’s for dinner?” even if he knows.

chicken pork 001

 

This particular night, teriyaki chicken was on the menu.  Big Guy was pretty excited about this dinner.

The chicken had marinated in a homemade teriyaki sauce of balsamic vinegar, honey, ginger, miso, pepper and mirin for an hour or so before grilled to perfection.  The chicken was cooked perfectly but I should have marinated it longer.  I think 5-6 hours would have been optimal.

On the side, carrots.  I typically eat carrots as a snack so they’re rarely a side dish for dinner.

chicken pork 002

 

I tried to cut the carrots as “matchstick” size as possible.  The carrots don’t need long to cook.  You don’t want mushy carrots.  Sesame and ginger provide so much flavor and I love the flecks of black toasted sesame seeds in the sea of orange.

chicken pork 004

 

An insanely delicious plate brightened up with fresh cilantro and green onions.

And despite wanting to catch up on the day even more, a quiet dinner table means the food hit the spot.

Leave a Reply

