Terra d’Oro Zinposium Dinner

Dinners that involve wine pairings are officially one of my favorite things in life.  On Friday night, I, along with four of my favorite ladies, attended a wine dinner at the country club.  As I mentioned Friday, I want to learn to appreciate wine more in 2014.  That includes whites and reds, I must add because I typically don’t drink red wine.  I must also note that the country club just started a wine club this year, “Friends of the Vine.”  You can bet that I was one of the first ones to respond with a “Yes, please!  Sign me up!”  Along with the wine club comes four wine dinners and the first one was a Zinposium with Terra d’Oro wines.  

From start to finish the entire evening was amazing.  The atmosphere was perfect, the company was excellent and well, the food and wine were on point.  I can’t say enough wonderful things about the whole evening.

There was one white wine, the Pinot Grigio and it was much drier that I’m used to but I adored it.  (Not to mention a glass of wine was SO needed come 6:30pm on Friday.)

I did not capture great pictures of all the food but honestly, I was really trying to enjoy the dinner and learn something from the pairings.

Land of Gold, that’s what Terra d’Oro means.

For more than 150 years, fortune seekers have been lured to California’s rugged Sierra Foothills. Though they once came for the gold, these days they come for the wine—Terra d’Oro, to be more specific. Handcrafted from some of Amador County’s most historic vineyards, Terra d’Oro wines are rich indeed, full of the character and intensity that perfectly captures the essence of this “Land of Gold.”

There were two wines that stood out in particular.  The Terra d’Oro Deaver Vineyard 130+ Year Old Vine Zinfandel was hands down my favorite wine of the nights.  Juicy and delicious.

The 2011 Terra d’Oro Deaver Zinfandel has a deep garnet color with lifted aromas of dark fruit, clove and spicy oak. The palate is focused with crisp and juicy layers of ripe blackberry, spicy plum and soft chewy tannins. The baked spice components add complexity to this bold wine and support a great balance of power and restraint. For a zesty pairing, serve this wine with a roasted rack of lamb or a juicy ribeye steak.

The Deaver was paired with duck and I thought it was an excellent pairing.  I purchased a bottle of the Deaver and I hope to enjoy a bottle with Big Guy with a great steak dinner.

Despite the entire meal being incredible, my favorite pairing of the night was dessert.  And guess what, chocolate was not involved.  (gasp!)

Rogue Creamery’s “Smokey Blue” with vanilla poached apricots and candied bacon.

The blue cheese was cold smoked over hazelnuts and was amazing.  I actually thought it had a little bit of a cheddar taste and it wasn’t too blue-y.  I can’t even get over how perfect this plate was with the Terra d’Oro Port.

Terra d’Oro Zinfandel Port displays aromas of raisined berry fruit, sugared dates, chocolate, caramel and orange peel. The wine’s rich, lush, grapy flavors also evoke raisin, cocoa, coffee and toffee. This delicious, fortified wine is perfect onits own or as an accompaniment to chocolate, chocolate, chocolate…don’t like chocolate? Try it with Stilton cheese and toasted walnuts.

This is another one of the bottles I purchased.  Big Guy actually enjoys port and I’m glad that I found one that I really enjoy.

Such a fun night with friends and amazing food and wine.

One thought on “Terra d’Oro Zinposium Dinner

  1. Pingback: Rewind {the weekend} | A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

