Noodles with Spicy Cumin Lamb

Christmas is one week away.  And if you’re like me, there’s still a lot of items on your “to do” list before next week.  In fact, there’s a lot I need to do before Saturday.  A trick to savoring and enjoying the holidays is to make some things simple.  I hate to get caught up in all the craziness and forget the real meaning of these time of the year.  Easy dinners help keep me sane.  I’m talking 20 minute dinners.  But 20 minute dinners don’t have to be boring or come from the freezer or the drive-thru.

shrimp and christmas 003

Noodles with Spicy Cumin Lamb was actually our Friday date night dinner but it’s easy enough and quick enough for any night of the week.

For the noodles, I used a new-to-me gluten-free soba-inspired noodles that I found in the ethnic section of Harris Teeter that was made with quinoa, pumpkin and ginger.  They cooked in 4 minutes!  Talk about super fast.

I actually got the rest of the meal almost completely done before I dropped the noodles into the boiling water.

For the hoisin sauce, I made my own!  I had all the ingredients on hand and it’s gluten-free.  Win.

I was unable to find cumin seeds, so I actually just used cumin.  A large handful of cumin, that is.

I loved the flavors of this dish.  Very aromatic and comforting.

shrimp and christmas 004

Leave a Reply

