Kale and Caramelized Onion Grilled Cheese

Rain, rain, go away…

Last night was the perfect soup ‘n sammie night.  Rainy, cold weather is when I crave warm soup and grilled cheese sandwiches.

This grilled cheese is full of veggies and cheese.

A red onion is sliced and then sauteed in a bit of olive oil until softened and browned.  Once cooked, a splash of red wine vinegar is added for a little zing.  I really loved the acidity that the vinegar brought to the sandwich.

Kale is thrown in a pot of boiling water and cooked until bright green.  I used pre-sliced kale (since I’ll need some for another recipe later in the week).  Kale can be bitter when raw but cooking for just a few minutes takes away the bitterness.

Two cheeses act as the glue for this sammie:  Parmesan and Gruyere.  I adored the combination of the cheeses with the caramelized onion and the kale added some “green” to the mix.  I ended up having some sweetness mixed in because I didn’t have regular gluten-free bread (I had to use cinnamon raisin – and guess what, it worked!).  The flavors are amazing.

One of the best vegetarian sandwiches I’ve ever had.

Warm, melty, crusty grilled cheese.  Sandwich perfection.

Leave a Reply

