Thanksgiving {the turkey and Bourbon Pecan Pie}

Yesterday I mentioned that growing up Pawpaw was in charge of the turkey.  Well, in our house, Big Guy is in charge of the turkey.

turkey 022

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll help him decide how we’re going to cook the turkey but ultimately, he’s in charge.  And he decided that we were going to smoke the turkey (turkey breast) and that’s just what we did.

I had picked out a recipe that we were both rather excited about and well, we ran out of time.  BUT,  we were able to find an “injection” recipe and the turkey turned out fantastic.  Tender as could be with a slight smokey taste from the smoker.

The sauce included chicken broth, olive oil, garlic cloves, honey, Frank’s hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, rosemary, sage, bay leaf and thyme.  Once the sauce was prepped and drained, Big Guy injected the turkey and we let it “marinate” for a few hours before smoking.

turkey 023

 

The final product was amazing.  Super tender but had so much flavor because of the sauce that was injected into the meat pre-smoking.

turkey 025

 

But no Thanksgiving for two is complete without dessert.  And in Big Guy’s mind, all Thanksgiving tables should include pecan pie.  Though I have my thoughts on this matter (to the Bell’s, no Thanksgiving is complete without pumpkin cheesecake) I was happy to make a pecan pie…from scratch.  And by scratch, I mean I attempted to make my first crust from scratch.

Bourbon Pecan Pie

turkey 010

And to be my first attempt, I’m pretty impressed with out it turned out.

Thankfully, Big Guy isn’t judging my crust-skills.  I’m pretty sure he loved the pie because he ate it for breakfast the next day.

turkey 026

 

I will never be able to put into words how thankful I am for the life that I’ve been given and for the people that are in my life.

turkey 027

 

I cannot to spend the holidays with the ones that I love the most.

I beg you to slow down and savor every moment with your loved ones and every bite you take at the dinner table.

Enjoy Thanksgiving.  Don’t let it get lost in all the hustle and bustle of Christmas.

Leave a Reply

