Black Bean Tacos with Feta Slaw

Happy Monday Tuesday!

Some evenings call for a quick and easy dinner.  And a can of black beans can be a life saver on those evenings.  I always try to keep several cans of beans in the pantry in case of an “emergency.”

fall 002

 

To make this can of beans a little more exciting than just beans, I sauteed a sliced onion along with garlic and diced jalapeno in a little bit of olive oil.  While the onions were cooking, I rinsed and drained the beans and slightly mashed about one cup of the beans.  Once the onions were cooked, transfer to a bowl.  In the same saute pan, add in the beans (mashed and not mashed), cumin (I used quite a bit since I didn’t purchase seasoned beans) and salt.  While the beans are heating up, make the slaw.  Simply angel hair coleslaw, a little vinegar, mayonnaise, black pepper, cilantro and green onions.  Here’s a link to the original recipe.  

Heat the tortillas and dinner is ready.  I served my slaw on the side but ended up adding it to the tacos as I was eating.  Feta adds a great saltiness to the tacos.

fall 003

 

If you’re not a fan of black beans, I’m sure any bean would work for these tacos.  Not a fan of feta, substitute another cheese.  So versatile and so tasty.

What’s one of your favorite go-to quick and easy meals?

Leave a Reply

